Now Accepting Applications for SYRCL’s Environmentalist of the Year Scholarship

Now Accepting Applications for SYRCL’s Environmentalist of the Year Scholarship

For the past sixteen years, SYRCL has been proud to offer a four-year college scholarship to a graduating high school senior who has demonstrated a commitment to the environment. Since 2002, sixteen $4,000 scholarships have been awarded.

SYRCL worked closely with Nick and Amanda Wilcox to establish the scholarship in honor of their daughter, Laura Wilcox, a beloved Nevada Union graduate who was killed in 2001. Funds for the scholarship are raised during our annual Quiz Night: Brains of Nevada County event. This next year, Quiz Night is scheduled for March 9, 2018.

SYRCL values its long-term partnership with the Wilcox Family, and we are honoring their request to change the scholarship’s name.

According to Amanda and Nick Wilcox, “We have deeply appreciated SYRCL’s steady support and the establishment of the Laura Wilcox Memorial Scholarship. We know that Quiz Night requires much planning and effort from both SYRCL staff and many dedicated volunteers. The scholarship is a stark reminder of the loss of Laura and we have always found the associated events to be emotionally difficult. Now, after sixteen years, we feel it is time to turn the scholarship program over to SYRCL. We know that SYRCL will continue to support outstanding youth in pursuit of a college education.”

2017 Environmentalist of the Year recipient, Junet Bedayn

“Investing in our community’s youth is a priority at SYRCL. We take pride in offering this scholarship to support outstanding young people committed to making a positive impact. It is a joy to see young people, inspired by our local environment, who want to use their education to lead, effect change, and seek solutions to some of today’s most pressing environmental challenges,” says Melinda Booth, SYRCL Executive Director.

In June, we awarded the scholarship to Junet Bedayn, a recent Nevada Union High School graduate whose community leadership, volunteerism, and drive distinguished her. Junet has been admitted to Sciences Po University in France beginning in September 2018. In the meantime, she’s travelling. “With travel and service work on my mind, I have deferred my enrollment to my University and I’m on the move. After the summer concludes, I am headed to France to attend Sciences Po University for two years, and then to Columbia University to finish off the four-year dual bachelor program. Thank you, SYRCL, for supporting my educational endeavors!”

We encourage local high school seniors within the Nevada Joint Union High School district to apply. Applications are now being accepted and are due in early January.

Scholarship Details:

Nevada Joint Union High School District scholarship applications are due to the District Scholarship Coordinator, Barbara Ross, January 17, 2018. Please find the Scholarship Application here: Please note,  SYRCL’s scholarship is listed as a District Scholarship.


SYRCL’s ENVIRONMENTALIST OF THE YEAR SCHOLARSHIP: Minimum 3.5 G.P.A. In addition to your personal statement, please include a 1-page double-spaced essay with the following prompt: “How has living in the Yuba or Bear River Watershed influenced the future direction of your life? How do you wish to make a difference in the world based on your life in these watersheds?”  SYRCL’s Environmentalist of the Year recipient will receive $1,000 per year for 4 years for tuition at an accredited college or university. Applicants must demonstrate community leadership, extra-curricular activity, environmental volunteerism, and interest in pursuing a degree related to the environment. Need is not a consideration in awarding this scholarship except when two or more applicants have equal qualifications. Preference will be given to students with a history of volunteering at SYRCL, but is not required to receive this award.

Questions? Contact:
Barbara J. Ross, District Scholarship Coordinator
11645 Ridge Road, Grass Valley, CA 95945  |  530-273-3351 x224  |  530-273-4431 x2038

Environmentalist of the Year Scholarship Recipients

2017: Junet Bedayn  |  2016: Delphine Giffith  |  2015: Evan DesJardins  |  2014:  Sean Anderson
2013:  Anna Weixelman  |  2012:  Luz Brown  |  2011:  Jade Won Golder  |  2010:  Anna Daggett
2009:  Hannah Limov  |  2008:  Anna Harris  |  2007:  April McGrath  |  2006:  Liana Campus
2005:  Nate Rosenbloom  |  2004:  Myfanwy Rowlands  |  2003:  Alexis Bloom  |  2002:  Joan Dudney


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *